The stupid “cap space” strategy

The Bucks vs the Celtics has all the flavor of a football game when both teams know they’re likely to meet each other in a real contest… nobody’s showing nothing.

So I’m surfing around reading about how the Bulls are once-again banking on the old “Cap Space/Huge Free Agent” malarkey.  They basically gave up this season, and augmented the Bucks playoff run just to open themselves up for next season.

Dumb, dumb, dumb.

Perhaps you can pull a “Superstar-for-Junk” trade like the Celtics pulled, but I can’t remember a “huge” free agent signing other than the unusual decision by Shaq to move to the Lakers.  But he did that for entertainment purposes.

Nevertheless, some teams chase that dumb strategy.

I’ll bet you the Bucks somehow win this dogshit game.  The Celtics are winning now, but I bet the Celts become indifferent.

The Celts will win the game in Boston, though.

5 Responses to “The stupid “cap space” strategy”

  1. Blake Says:

    I’m hoping Jennings turns on his “AI” like potential in the playoffs, I can’t help but hope that he has been saving all his energy for playoff series. By the way, just curious, but just how productive was Allen Iverson in his rookie season? I noticed that besides their secondary statistics (AI was the #1 scorer and I believe he was older than Jennings was) are pretty similar. Obviously AI was a much more advanced scorer and more ready for the NBA. But if Jennings keeps developing, I think he is so young that he can turn into v.2 of Iverson. He is in the mold of him and it makes perfect sense since that’s his favorite player. I don’t know about you but I would just love to see this team have a guy like Iverson (even a poor man’s version) without all the character concerns and ball dominance.

    But anyways, just curious to see how you felt about Jennings being compared to Iverson, and if you think that Jennings is starting to turn into a guy similar to what Iverson was. I know Brandon might not be the superstar Allen was, but I feel that with Bogut his max potential can be something like 23 and 7 shooting 41 or 42%.

  2. tywill33 Says:

    I’m actually hoping he will be a version of the guy your seeing out there tonight… Rondo! Rondo is a much better win producer than Iverson ever was. Iverson shot and shot and shot and basically “volume scored”, meaning he scored a lot of points but he used way too many possessions to get them.

    That’s why Iverson never could co-exist with any other decent player. He needed too many possessions to get his points.

    Look at how Rondo just kills you with his uberproduction — assists, layups, rebounds, great defense. I fear the hell out of Rondo.

    If Jennings patterned his game after that, the Bucks would be set.

    Hey, by the way, did you call in to the Jim Rome show and comment on Jennings at noon time a few days ago?

    • Blake Says:

      I know that Jennings is a big Rondo fan, but I think Brandon is more of a shooter where as Rajon likes to take it to the hole more. Jennings is more of a scorer too, he’ll probably average more PPG than Rondo will. But they definitely have a lot of similarities in both defense, quickness and rebounding the ball.

      And no, that wasn’t me. Haha. Did a guy name Blake call in? 😛

  3. tywill33 Says:

    Yes! I know there are hundreds of Blakes who are Bucks fans, but when the comment was on Jennings and the ROY, I thought, hmmm…

    That was a bad game. I’m bummed. They manhandled the Bucks.

  4. TC from Racine Says:

    heh, the Knicks are the kings of this idiocy that passes for strategy. the Bulls almost look responsible compared to them. Almost. They will have one thing in common by October though: Lebron’ll be finished stringing em along. I remember back when Kobe was flirting with the Clippers for his own amusement several years ago, if I was a betting man, I’d wager that the “Summer of Lebron” will play out very much like that.

Leave a Reply

